The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:T. Rowe, Fido, and Pimco Lead This Awards Race Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Friday, January 12, 2018

T. Rowe, Fido, and Pimco Lead This Awards Race

News summary by MFWire's editors

Folks at T. Rowe Price, Fidelity, Pimco, and thirteen other firms have good cause to break out some champagne today, yet only a handful will be celebrating again in 12 days.

Yesterday Laura Pavlenko Lutton, Morningstar's director of manager research for North America, revealed 16 nominees for the research giant's four 2017 U.S. Fund Manager of the Year Awards. The crop of nominees is entirely fresh from last year, and M* will reveal the winner's on January 24 on CNBC's "Power Lunch" program.

T. Rowe leads the pack with three nominations. Larry Puglia, PM of the T. Rowe Price Blue Chip Growth Fund and Henry Ellenbogen, PM of T. Rowe Price New Horizons, are two of the four nominees for "Domestic-Stock Fund Manager of the Year." (Puglia was nominated for the same award for 2013.) David Giroux, PM of the T. Rowe Price Capital Appreciation Fund, was nominated as "Allocation/Alternatives Fund Manager of the Year." This is Giroux's fifth nomination for the award, which he also won for 2012.

Fidelity PMs landed two nominations. Steven Wymer, PM of the Fidelity Growth Company Fund, was nominated for "Domestic-Stock Fund Manager of the Year." And Andrew Dierdorf and Brett Sumsion, PMs of the Fidelity Freedom Target-Date Series, were nominated for "Allocation/Alternatives Fund Manager of the Year."

Fixed income giant Pimco also landed two nominations, both for "Fixed-Income Fund Manager of Year": Dan Ivascyn, Alfred Murata, and team, PMs of the Pimco Income Fund; and Scott Mather, Mark Kiesel, and Mihir Worah, PMs of the Pimco Total Return Fund.

The other nominees include:

  • Earnest Partners' Paul Viera, PM of the Harbor Small Cap Value Fund, for "Domestic-Stock Fund Manager of the Year";

  • Sarah Ketterer, Harry Hartford, and team, PMs of the Causeway International Value Fund, for "International-Stock Fund Manager of the Year;

  • Rajeev Bhaman and John Delano, PMs of the Oppenheimer Global Fund;

  • Baillie Gifford Overseas Ltd.'s James Anderson and Thomas Coutts, and Schroder Investment Management's Simon Webber, PMs of the Vanguard International Growth Fund, for "International-Stock Fund Manager of the Year";

  • David Hoffman, John McIntyre, Anujeet Sareen, and Stephen Smith, PMs of the BrandywineGLOBAL Global Opportunities Bond Fund, for "Fixed-Income Fund Manager of the Year";

  • Michael Collins, Gregory Peters, Richard Piccirillo, and Robert Tipp, PMs of the Prudential Total Return Bond Fund, for "Fixed-Income Fund Manager of the Year";

  • Ken Leech and team, PMs of the Western Asset Core Plus Bond Fund, for "Fixed-Income Fund Manager of the Year";

  • Daniel Ashcraft, Michael Buckius, Paul Stewart, and Kenneth Toft, PMs of Natixis' Gateway Fund, for "Allocation/Alternatives Fund Manager of the Year";

  • Anne Lester, Dan Oldroyd, and team, PMs of the JPMorgan SmartRetirement Target-Date Series, for "Allocation/Alternatives Fund Manager of the Year."

Yesterday M* dug deeper into the four nominees in the "Domestic-Stock Fund Manager of the Year" award, and next week they will highlight nominees in the other three categories. 

Edited by: Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2023: Q1
2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

  1. MFDF webinar - The SEC's Swing Pricing and Liquidity Proposal: What You Should Know, February 1
  2. Exchange: an ETF Experience, Feb 5-8
  3. WE US - Breakfast at Nobu Hotel, February 6
  4. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum (Stuart, FL), February 7
  5. 8th Annual Expect Miracles in Manhattan, February 16
  6. MMI Next Chapter: Rockin' Retirement, February 21
  7. Expect Miracles Boston YPEM Battle of the Bartenders, February 28
  8. MFDF webinar - Fund Industry Claims Trends: An Insurer's Perspective, March 1
  9. Nicsa Strategic Leadership Forum 2023, Mar 1-3
  10. IMEA Data Council Summit, Mar 7-8
  11. MFDF 2023 Fund Governance & Regulatory Insights Conference, Mar 9-10
  12. Irish Funds Boston Breakfast Seminar, March 15
  13. Irish Funds New York Seminar, March 16
  14. 2023 ICI Investment Management Conference, Mar 19-22
  15. FRA's Mastering Client Services and RFPs for Institutional Investors, Mar 20-21
  16. Crane Data's Bond Fund Symposium, Mar 23-24
  17. 2023 MMI Summit, Mar 29-30
  18. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom, March 29
  19. 34th Sub-Advised Funds Forum, Apr 3-4
  20. MFDF webinar - Impact of Market Performance on 2022 Annual Investment Firm Profitability and Economies of Scale, April 5
  21. MFDF Regulatory Impacts on Fund Boards, April 20
  22. Morningstar Investment Conference 2023, Apr 25-27
  23. MFDF In Focus: Board Oversight Lessons from Former Fund Directors, May 9
  24. 2023 MMI Emerging Asset Managers Forum, May 11-12
  25. WE US - breakfast at InsideETFs, May 22
  26. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum (Columbus, OH), June 1

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2023
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use