Fidelity Leads As 97 Fund Firms Win Big
   The insiders' edge for 40 Act industry executives!
an InvestmentWires' Publication
Thursday, March 10, 2022

Fidelity Leads As 97 Fund Firms Win Big

Fundsters with 97 firms have good cause to celebrate with some champagne.

Abigail "Abby" Pierrepont Johnson
FMR (dba Fidelity Investments)
Chair, President, CEO
Earlier today, Tom Roseen, head of research at Refinitiv Lipper revealed the winners (17 pages worth) of the 2022 U.S. Refinitiv Lipper Fund Awards. By MFWire's count, 97 mutual fund firms won individual fund and/or group awards. (Traditionally, the Refinitiv Lipper folks celebrate the winning firms at a gala in NYC, but they skipped that in 2021 and 2022 in light of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.)

To determine the winners, the Refinitiv Lipper team uses Lipper Leader ratings for consistent return, a "risk-adjusted performance measure for investors with a stronger risk aversion of clustering of losses than of gains," Roseen explains.

Winners of this year's group awards include: Calamos, Raymond James' Carillon Tower, J.P. Morgan, Lord Abbett, Needham, TIAA's Nuveen, T. Rowe Price, and Virtus.

Yet the vast majority of the awards recognized individual funds. (According to Roseen, this year the Refinitiv Lipper team recognized 116 funds, 114 funds, and 101 funds in three-, five-, and 10-year categories, respectively.) Fidelity led the 2022 awards pack with 35 awards. Other double-digit award winners this time around included: T. Rowe Price (25 awards, including 1 group award), Allianz's Pimco (23 awards), Morgan Stanley (including Calvert and Eaton Vance) (19 awards), Vanguard (19 awards), Invesco (16 awards), and Capital Group's American Funds (15 awards).

DFA, Franklin Templeton (incluing Legg Mason), and Prudential's PGIM won seven awards each. Ameriprise's Columbia Threadneedle and TIAA's Nuveen won six each. And Baron, Macquarie's Delaware, Needham, and Virtus each won five.

Advisors Preferred, Baillie Gifford, BNY Mellon, Matthews Asia, Victory, Wasatch, and WCM won four awards each.

GMO, Guggenheim (including Rydex), Hartford, Lord Abbett, MFS, Orrell Capital Maangement, Parnassus, and TCW (including MetWest) won three awards each.

Resolute's American Beacon, American Century, AssetMark, Baird, BlackRock, Bridgeway, Cohen & Steers, Diamond Hill, Dodge & Cox, Driehaus, DWS, Impax Asset Management, J.P. Morgan, MassMutual, Nationwide, RiverPark, SEI, Sit, and Thrivent won two awards each.

Single award winners include: Abbey Capital Limited, ABR Dynamic Funds, Alger, Allspring, AQR, Aristotle, Ariel, Calamos, Camelot Event-Driven Advisors, Carillon Tower, Catalyst, Cavanal Hill, Channel Investment Partners, Charles Schwab, Crossmark, DoubleLine, Dunham, Easterly, Edgemoor, Eventide, Frost, Grandeur Peak, Guinness Atkinson, Harvest, Hennessy, Horizon Kinetics, Intrepid, Knights of Columbus, Kopernik, New York Life's MainStay, Northern Trust, Harris' Oakmark, Oberweis, Pacific Heights Asset Management, Paradigm, Payden & Rygel, Polaris Capital Management, ProFunds, Putnam, River Canyon, RiverNorth, Segall Bryant & Hamill, Shelton, SMI Advisory Services, Thornburg, Value Line, and Voya.

Printed from:

Copyright 2022, InvestmentWires, Inc.
All Rights Reserved
Back to Top