Which PMs Will Win? Here's M*'s 2014 Short List
   The insiders' edge for 40 Act industry executives!
an InvestmentWires' Publication
Monday, January 5, 2015

Which PMs Will Win? Here's M*'s 2014 Short List

American Century [profile], Artisan [profile], Dodge & Cox [profile], Fidelity [profile], Gotham [profile], Invesco [profile], J.P. Morgan [profile], Legg Mason [profile], Parnassus [profile], Robeco [profile], T. Rowe Price [profile], and Vanguard [profile] all have reasons to celebrate today.

This morning Morningstar unveiled its nominees for 2014 U.S. Fund Manager of the Year in five categories. Vanguard led the Chicago-based mutual fund ratings giant's nominations, with four, while T. Rowe earned three, and Legg Mason earned two. All other shops earned one nomination each.

M* will reveal the winners live on CNBC's "Power Lunch" program on January 21.

The contenders are:


  • Anne Lester and her team, who PM the J.P. Morgan SmartRetirement target date series of funds;

  • David Giroux, who PMs the T. Rowe Price Capital Appreciation Fund; and

  • Edward Bousa and John Keogh, who PM the Vanguard Wellington Fund;


  • Robert Goldstein and Joel Greenblatt, who PM the Gotham Absolute Return Fund;

  • Robert Jones and his team, who PM the Robeco Boston Partners Long/Short Equity Fund; and

  • Michael Roach, James Stetler, and James Troyer, who PM the Vanguard Market Neutral Fund;

    Domestic Stock

  • Phillip Davidson, Michael Liss, Kevin Toney and Brian Woglom, who PM the American Century Equity Income Fund, the American Century Mid Cap Value Fund, and the American Century Value Fund;

  • Juliet Ellis, Juan Hartsfield, and Clay Manley, who PM the Invesco Small Cap Growth Fund;

  • Todd Ahlsten and Ben Allen, who PM the Parnassus Core Equity Fund;

  • Brian Berghuis, who PMs the T. Rowe Price Mid-Cap Growth Fund; and

  • Mohsin Ansari, Joel Fried, Theo Kolokotrones, James Marchetti, and Al Mordecai, who PM the Primecap Odyssey Aggressive Growth Fund, the Primecap Odyssey Growth Fund, the Primecap Odyssey Stock Fund, the Vanguard Capital Opportunity Fund, the Vanguard Primecap Fund, and the Vanguard Primecap Core Fund;

    Fixed Income

  • Franco Castagliuolo and Bill Irving, who PM the Fidelity GNMA Fund and the Fidelity Government Income Fund;

  • David Hoffman, John McIntyre, and Steve Smith, who PM the Legg Mason Brandywine Global Opportunities Bond Fund;

  • Michael Garrett, who PMs the Vanguard GNMA Fund; and

  • Carl Eichstaedt, Ken Leech, and Mark Lindbloom, who PM the Western Asset Core Bond Fund and the Western Asset Core Plus Bond Fund;

    International Stock

  • Daniel O'Keefe and David Samra, who PM the Artisan Global Value Fund and the Artisan International Value Fund;

  • Charles Pohl, Diana Strandberg and their team, who PM the Dodge and Cox International Stock Fund; and

  • Justin Thomson and his team, who PM the T. Rowe Price International Discovery Fund.

    Printed from:

    Copyright 2015, InvestmentWires, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved