ETF Insiders Convene, and SHE Has Another Great Night
   The insiders' edge for 40 Act industry executives!
an InvestmentWires' Publication
Friday, April 21, 2017

ETF Insiders Convene, and SHE Has Another Great Night

Last night ETF industry insiders from around the globe converged in New York City, and it was another big night for the folks at SSgA.

Jim Ross
Head of ETFs
About 100 fundsters and fundster allies gathered at Convene, near Grand Central in midtown Manhattan, for the 13th annual Global ETF Awards, hosted and organized by and coordinated by the Optimal Networking Event. Arlene Reyes-Miller, founder and chief operating officer of, emceed the awards dinner, which followed a cocktail reception and before that an afternoon workshop featuring discussion forums on active and smart beta ETFs and on global ETP growth.

The events features both statistically-based awards and awards based on industry voting, and winners were recognized in three different regions: the Americas, Europe, and Asia Pacific. In the Americas, SSgA's SPDRs led the pack with three statistical awards and three voting-based awards, including "most marketable ETF ticker" for the new and much-lauded SHE ETF.

Deutsche Bank and the NYSE also each won multiple awards in the Americas. And Kathleen Moriarty, partner at Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer, won the Nate Most Greatest Contributor to the ETF Market award. That award is named after Moriarty's late mentor, Nate Most, who invented the first ETF.

Other asset managers in the Americas that won awards last night include: Guggenheim's CurrencyShares, First Trust, BlackRock's iShares, J.P. Morgan, Sage Advisory, and Janus' VelocityShares.

Reyes-Miller kicked off the awards show with a presentation about "Formidable Women of Wall Street" throughout American history, women including: Abigail Adams, the U.S.'s first female investor; Tennessee Clafin and Victoria Woodhull, the first women to found a brokerage; Hetty Green, who was known as "the Witch of Wall Street", and Mickie Siebert, the first woman to own a seat on the NYSE.

BNY Mellon, ETF Managers Group, Flow Traders, Jane Street Capital, the NYSE, Syntax, Stoxx, Thompson Hine, and U.S. Bancorp Fund Services all sponsored the awards dinner, and executives from the different sponsors took turns presenting the awards.

Printed from:

Copyright 2017, InvestmentWires, Inc.
All Rights Reserved
Back to Top