170 Fundsters Gather As 92 Fund Firms Win Big
   The insiders' edge for 40 Act industry executives!
an InvestmentWires' Publication
Friday, March 06, 2020

170 Fundsters Gather As 92 Fund Firms Win Big

Last night 92 fund firms won big at an industry awards show in New York City. The biggest winners included the folks at Fidelity, Pimco, Invesco, Vanguard, Nuveen, MFS, Eaton Vance, and Capital Group.

Abigail Pierrepont Johnson
FMR (dba Fidelity Investments)
Chair, President, CEO
Bob Jenkins head of research at Refinitiv's Lipper arm, emceed the 2020 Refinitiv Lipper Fund Award - United States, which moved this year, from midtown to a new venue, the Cipriani in the grand, century-old Cunard building in lower Manhattan. The eight shops listed above won more than dozen awards each, and many other other fund firms won multiple awards, too. (Here's Lipper's fund awards methodology.)

After a networking cocktail hour, Pradeep Menon, managing director of Refinitiv's investing and advisory division (one of four main divisions at the company), welcomed fundsters to the event and polled them for predictions on 2020 fund flows, the future of ESG, and more. Then, after an ESG-focused panel discussion and a steak dinner, the event's new charity partner, Leslie Wetzel, took the stage. Wetzel is the chief development officer at Women's World Banking, which helps 68 million around the world access financial services. Then Jenkins took the stage to hand out the awards.

Despite recent coronavirus fears, about 170 fundsters attended the dinner. (Word is that this week about 50 attendees cancelled last minute, while about 30 last minute attendees registered.) Thanks to the coronavirus outbreaks around the world, most fundsters at the awards dinner last night substituted elbow bumps in lieu of the traditional hand shakes.

Fidelity was the biggest winner last night, landing 26 awards. Pimco won 24, Invesco and Vanguard won 21 each, TIAA's Nuveen won 17 (including two group awards), Capital Group's American Funds won 13. Other group award winners included: MFS, which won 12 awards including two group ones); Eaton Vance (including Calvert), 11 awards; WCM, three awards; and Astor and Diamond Hill, two awards each.

T. Rowe Price won 12 awards. Morgan Stanley and Prudential's PGIM landed nine each. Wells Fargo scored seven. BlackRock and GMO took home six each. Ameriprise's Columbia Threadneedle, DFA, and Aegon's Transamerica secured five awards each. And Franklin Templeton, Manning & Napier, Virtus, and Voya earned four each.

AllianceBernstein, Hartford, Icon, MassMutual, Nationwide, ProFunds, Putnam, and Touchstone all won three awards each.

Crossmark, DoubleLine, DWS, Gateway, Guinness Atkinson, Harvest, John Hancock, Legg Mason, Loomis Sayles, Madison Asset Management, Needham Investment Management, Orrell Capital Management, and Wasatch all won two awards each.

The 47 other winners included: 1919 Investment Counsel, Advisors Preferred, AlphaCentric, Amundi Pioneer, AXS Investments, Baird, Barings, Baron, BNY Mellon, Calamos, Camelot Event-Driven Advisors, Canaval Hill Funds, Catalyst, CBOE Vest, Charles Schwab, Clark Capital Management Group's Navigator, Cohen & Steers, Copley Financial Services Corporation, Macquarie's Delaware, Federated Hermes, Fenimore, First Trust, Goldman Sachs, Gotham, Hotchkis and Wiley, Infinity Q, Janus Henderson, Johnson Investment Counsel, J.P. Morgan, Lazard, LoCorr, Lord Abbett, Matthews Asia, MD Sass, Neuberger Berman, Wisconsin Capital Management's Plumb, Polaris, Polen, Principal, Rational Advisors, RiverNorth, Salient, Shelton, TCW (including MetWest), Tortoise, and Victory.

Printed from:

Copyright 2020, InvestmentWires, Inc.
All Rights Reserved
Back to Top