Vanguard, Nuveen, and Morgan Stanley Win Big in Gotham
   The insiders' edge for 40 Act industry executives!
an InvestmentWires' Publication
Friday, March 24, 2017

Vanguard, Nuveen, and Morgan Stanley Win Big in Gotham

Last night Capital Group, Fidelity, Morgan Stanley [profile], Nuveen (formerly TIAA), OppenheimerFunds, Pimco, T. Rowe Price, and Vanguard all won big at an industry awards show in New York City.

Abby Johnson
Fidelity Investments
Chief Executive Officer
Thomson Reuters held the 2017 Lipper Fund Awards dinner at the Mandarin Oriental in midtown Manhattan, and 99 mutual fund shops' funds were recognized. A majority of the winning firms even landed multiple awards, and the eight shops mentioned above won 12 or more each.

Bob Jenkins, global head of research at Thomson Reuters Wealth Management/Lipper, presented the awards at the ceremony. Charles Schwab, Eaton Vance, Loomis Sayles, Pimco, and Virtus sponsored the event. InvestmentNews and the Wall Street Journal partnered with Thomson Reuters Lippers on the event, and Institutional Investor was the production partner.

As in past years, the High Water Women charity was featured at the awards dinner. Janice Abert, partner in the asset management practice at DHR International and board member at High Water Women, spoke to the attending fundsters and rallied them to donate during the event via text to support the charity's 2017 backpack drive. Their goal this is to raise $500,000 to put together 25,000 backpacks full of school supplies, to help schoolchildren in need.

The dinner also featured a "walk-up music contest." Each time a winner was brought to the stage, a different song played, and fundsters in the audience tweeted their guesses as to who sang that song. Fundsters at the winning table, number 19, each took home $100 Amazon gift cards.

About 200 fundsters attended the dinner, and about 160 came to the Lipper Alpha Forum at the nearby Ascent Lounge.

Capital Group's American Funds won 24 awards. OpFunds won 21 awards, Pimco won 17, Fidelity won 14, and T. Rowe Price won 13. Vanguard won 15 individual fund awards and one group award. Nuveen and TIAA won 12 individual awards and two group ones. And Morgan Stanley won 11 individual awards and one group award.

Wells Fargo won eight awards.

DFA, Eaton Vance, and Lord Abbett won six awards each. Thrivent won four individual awards and two group ones.

Cohen & Steers, Columbia Threadneedle, Ivy/Waddell & Reed, Legg Mason, and Matthews won five awards each. Primecap won four individual awards and a group one.

American Century, BlackRock, Charles Schwab, Delaware, Loomis Sayles, Parnassus, and Shelton won four awards each.

GMO, Great-West, Guggenheim, Hartford, SEI, and TCW won three awards each.

AB, Altegris, AQR, Calvert, Dupree, Franklin Templeton, GuideStone, Harding Loevner, Invesco, Janus, John Hancock, Lazard, MainStay, Neuberger Berman, ProFunds, RMB, Thornburg, Tortoise, U.S. Global Investors, USAA, Van Eck, Victory, and Virtus won two awards each. Westcore won one individual award and one group award.

Allianz, Alpine Woods, American Beacon, AMG, BMO, Boston Partners, Brandes, Brookfield, Cavanal Hill, Capstone, Catalyst, Clipper, Deutsche, Dodge & Cox, DoubleLine, Dreyfus, DuPont, FPA, Gateway, Harbor, Hennessy, Hood River, HSBC, Iron, Keeley, Leuthold Weeden, LoCorr, Meeder, MFS, Oak Associates, Pacific Life, Pear Tree, Polaris, Poplar Forest, Prudential, RidgeWorth, Scout, SilverPepper, Thompson, Towle, Voya, Wasatch, and Zacks won one award each.

Printed from:

Copyright 2017, InvestmentWires, Inc.
All Rights Reserved
Back to Top