The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:BlackRock and M* Win For AM Research Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Wednesday, January 29, 2020

BlackRock and M* Win For AM Research

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Researchers at BlackRock and Morningstar may be breaking out some champagne this week.

Ananth Madhavan
Managing Director, Global Head of Research for ETFs and Index Investing
Yesterday Richard Michaud, president and CEO of New Frontier Advisors, confirmed that BlackRock managing director Ananth Madhavan, BlackRock director Alexsander Sobczyk, Morningstar Investment Management quantitative research chief James Xiong, and MIM president Tom Idzorek won the 2019 "Special Distinction Awards," part of the Harry M. Markowitz Awards from New Frontier and the Journal of Investment Management. This is the tenth year of the awards, which are named after the Nobel prize-winning economist.

Madhavan and Sobczyk penned a paper called "Does Trading by ETF and Mutual Fund Investors Hurt Performance? Evidence From Time and Dollar-Weighted Returns." Idzorek and Xiong wrote a paper called "Quantifying the Skewness Loss of Diversification." (The latter pair seem to conclude that diversification is in fact not a free lunch.) For each winning paper, the authors received a $5,000 honorarium for the award.

The top prize (which includes a $10,000 honorarium) went to "Funding Long Shots," a paper by a trio of professors from different schools: John Hull, professor of derivatives and risk management at the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto; Andrew Lo, finance professor and director of the Laboratory for Financial Engineering at MIT's Sloan School of Management; and Roger Stein, adjunct professor at the Stern School of Business at NYU. 

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2023: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2023
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use