The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:T. Rowe Leads This Abbreviated Awards Race Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Monday, June 15, 2020

T. Rowe Leads This Abbreviated Awards Race

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Nine fund firms and their PMs are in contention in an abbreviated awards race, with the T. Rowe Price folks leading the field in terms of total nominations.

Jerome A. Clark
T. Rowe Price
Portfolio Manager
Today Sarah Bush, director of manager research for North America for Morningstar, revealed 2020 nominees for the Morningstar Awards for Investing Excellence, the revamped version of the investment research giant's old Fund Manager of the Year Awards. Like last year, the nominees are across two categories: "outstanding portfolio manager" and "rising talent", for specific PMs or PM teams; and "exemplary stewardship," for firms. The winners will be revealed next Monday, June 22, and they will be featured on CNBC's "Power Lunch" program that week.

The T. Rowe team landed three nominations (more than any other fund firm): one for Jerome Clark (a repeat nominee from last year), PM of the T. Rowe Price Retirement Series; one for Wyatt Lee, PM alongside Clark (who is stepping back in January); and one for the firm itself.

The Fidelity team landed two nominations: one for Joel Tillinghast (a repeat nominee from last year), PM of Fidelity Low-Priced Stock; and one for John Dance, PM of Fidelity Emerging Markets.

Other repeat nominees from 2019 included: Baird's Mary Ellen Stanek, PM of the Baird Core Plus Fund and the Baird Aggregate Bond Fund; Capital Group (a repeat nominee from last year); Dodge & Cox (a repeat nominee from last year);

The other 2020 nominees were: Akre Capital Management's Chuck Akre, PM of the Akre Focus Fund; Diamond Hill's John McClain, PM of Diamond Hill Corporate Credit and Diamond Hill High Yield; Pimco's Mohit Mittal, PM of Pimco Investment Grade Credit and Pimco Total Return; and TCW's Steve Kane, Laird Landmann, Tad Rivelle, and Bryan Whalen

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2022: Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

  1. Nicsa webinar - Luxembourg: The FinTech Gateway to Europ, May 18
  2. MMI webinar - How Wealth Firms Can Attract and Retain the Modern Investor, May 18
  3. ICI webinar - New Research Shows "First-Mover" Is a Universal Investor Response — Not Unique to Open-End Mutual Funds, May 18
  4. MFDF webinar - Mutual Fund Director Compensation: The MPI Annual Survey (2022), May 19
  5. 2022 ICI Leadership Summit, May 25-26
  6. ALFI Roadshow to New York, May 25
  7. 2022 IDC Fund Directors Workshop, May 26
  8. Irish Funds Annual Global Funds Conference 2022, May 30-31
  9. WealthManagement Edge, May 31 - June 3
  10. MFDF 2022 Fund Governance and Regulatory Insights Conference, Jun 8-9
  11. 28th annual Expect Miracles East Coast Classic, June 9
  12. 2022 Sohn Investment Conference, June 9
  13. IDC webinar - Cybersecurity for Fund Boards: The Current Landscape, June 9
  14. MMI webinar - Driving Business Value with Artificial Intelligence & Data, June 15
  15. MFDF webinar - Key Takeaways From Morningstar's 2021 Annual Fund Fee Study, June 16
  16. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum (Chicago), June 21
  17. 2022 MMI Emerging Asset Managers Forum, June 23
  18. MFDF In Focus: Capitol Hill, A Conversation with Congressman Bryan Steil, June 28
  19. Financial Planning INVEST, Jun 28-29
  20. MFDF webinar - Differentiating Mutual-Fund-to-ETF Conversions, July 19
  21. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum (New York), July 20
  22. 2022 MMI Distribution Leadership Forum, Jul 20-21
  23. MFDF webinar - Fund Boards' Oversight of Investment Performance, July 28
  24. MFDF webinar - Performance, Perception and Manager Selection, September 14
  25. 2022 ICI Tax and Accounting Conference, Sep 18-21
  26. 5th annual Expect Miracles Atlantic Coast Classic, October 3

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2022
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use