The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:ETF Insiders Convene, and SHE Has Another Great Night Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Friday, April 21, 2017

ETF Insiders Convene, and SHE Has Another Great Night

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Last night ETF industry insiders from around the globe converged in New York City, and it was another big night for the folks at SSgA.

Jim Ross
Head of ETFs
About 100 fundsters and fundster allies gathered at Convene, near Grand Central in midtown Manhattan, for the 13th annual Global ETF Awards, hosted and organized by ExchangeTradedFunds.com and coordinated by the Optimal Networking Event. Arlene Reyes-Miller, founder and chief operating officer of ExchangeTradedFunds.com, emceed the awards dinner, which followed a cocktail reception and before that an afternoon workshop featuring discussion forums on active and smart beta ETFs and on global ETP growth.

The events features both statistically-based awards and awards based on industry voting, and winners were recognized in three different regions: the Americas, Europe, and Asia Pacific. In the Americas, SSgA's SPDRs led the pack with three statistical awards and three voting-based awards, including "most marketable ETF ticker" for the new and much-lauded SHE ETF.

Deutsche Bank and the NYSE also each won multiple awards in the Americas. And Kathleen Moriarty, partner at Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer, won the Nate Most Greatest Contributor to the ETF Market award. That award is named after Moriarty's late mentor, Nate Most, who invented the first ETF.

Other asset managers in the Americas that won awards last night include: Guggenheim's CurrencyShares, First Trust, BlackRock's iShares, J.P. Morgan, Sage Advisory, and Janus' VelocityShares.

Reyes-Miller kicked off the awards show with a presentation about "Formidable Women of Wall Street" throughout American history, women including: Abigail Adams, the U.S.'s first female investor; Tennessee Clafin and Victoria Woodhull, the first women to found a brokerage; Hetty Green, who was known as "the Witch of Wall Street", and Mickie Siebert, the first woman to own a seat on the NYSE.

BNY Mellon, ETF Managers Group, Flow Traders, Jane Street Capital, the NYSE, Syntax, Stoxx, Thompson Hine, and U.S. Bancorp Fund Services all sponsored the awards dinner, and executives from the different sponsors took turns presenting the awards. 

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2021: Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

  1. MFDF webinar - Gender Bias in Investment Professional Evaluations, March 9
  2. FinReg Outlook 2021, March 10
  3. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom (Midwest), March 10
  4. Irish Funds North American Digital Seminar, March 11
  5. Nicsa webinar - Listen, Learn & Lead: Empowering and Sponsoring Women, March 11
  6. MFDF webinar - Municipal and Taxable Fixed Income — A Multi-Speed Recovery, March 12
  7. 2021 Virtual Mutual Funds and Investment Management Conference, Mar 15-19
  8. Women for Impact - A Call to Action, March 16
  9. SEC & DOL Standard of Conduct Rulemakings — Present & Future Considerations, March 23
  10. Expect Miracles Foundation's Virtual Mystery Game Night, March 24
  11. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom, March 24
  12. ETFGI Global ETFs Insights Summit - ESG & Active ETF Trends, Mar 24-25
  13. MFDF webinar - Asset Management M&A for Fund Directors — Recent Trends and Governance Issues, March 31
  14. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom, April 7
  15. MFDF In Focus: Board Oversight of Sub-advisers, April 15
  16. ETF.com Awards 2020, April 20
  17. The 31st Sub-Advised Funds Forum, Apr 20-21
  18. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom (Northeast), April 21
  19. FIASI virtual event - ESG in Fixed Income: Shining a Light on Transparency, Apr 22-23
  20. 44th Annual AIMSE Marketing & Sales Conference, May 2-4
  21. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom (Southeast), May 5
  22. ICI 2021 General Membership Meeting - Day 1, May 6
  23. ICI 2021 General Membership Meeting - Day 2, May 13
  24. 2021 FINRA Annual Conference, May 18-20
  25. MFDF Director Discussion Series - Open Forum via Zoom, May 19
  26. 2nd annual ETFGI Global ETFs Insights Summit - USA, May 19-20

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2021
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use